0%
0 / 33
Educational aid — verify against EANM/SNMMI/ATA/NCCN, the drug label and local protocol. Session-only.
1
Before planning therapy
2
On the day of treatment
3
After treatment & follow-up
Background & evidence
A β-emitting colloid injected into a joint is phagocytosed by the superficial synovial lining. Local irradiation then causes cell death, capillary obliteration and fibrosis of the inflamed synovium, reducing effusion, pain and bleeding. The nuclide is matched to synovial thickness and joint size: ⁹⁰Y citrate for the knee, ¹⁸⁶Re sulfide for medium joints and ¹⁶⁹Er citrate for small joints. It is a local option for persistent mono- or oligoarticular synovitis after systemic therapy and steroid injection, and a first-line non-surgical synovectomy in haemophilia.
Indications & contraindications
Indications
- Licensed (SPC core data): ⁹⁰Y, synovial hypertrophy of the knee in chronic inflammatory arthritis (especially RA) and haemophilic arthropathy; ¹⁸⁶Re, mono- or oligoarthritis of medium joints, including RA, haemophilic arthropathy and chondrocalcinosis; ¹⁶⁹Er, small joints of the hands and feet after failed or contraindicated steroid injection
- Rheumatoid arthritis and seronegative spondyloarthropathy (reactive and psoriatic arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis) with persistent synovitis after ≥1 failed intra-articular steroid injection; best results with little joint damage (Steinbrocker I–II)
- Haemophilic synovitis: chronic synovitis (>3–6 months) or recurrent bleeds into a target joint despite factor replacement. WFH 2020 recommends radioisotope synovectomy as first-line non-surgical synovectomy
- Diffuse pigmented villonodular synovitis (tenosynovial giant cell tumour): adjuvant after surgical synovectomy to prevent relapse (approved indication in Germany)
- Off-label in selected patients with documented consent: osteoarthritis with secondary synovitis resistant to other treatment; recurrent effusion after synovectomy; recurrent effusion after arthroplasty once loosening and infection are excluded
Contraindications
- Absolute: pregnancy; breastfeeding; local skin infection or septic arthritis; ruptured popliteal (Baker's) cyst; recent joint surgery or arthroplasty with fresh scars (<6 weeks); uncontrolled bleeding including massive haemarthrosis (except haemophilia with factor cover)
- Relative: extensive joint instability with bone destruction; high-grade bone destruction (poorer response; possible subchondral osteonecrosis in end-stage osteoarthritis)
- Relative: children and young people <20 years. Restrict use, except haemophilia, where benefit usually outweighs risk
- Radiocolloids are not approved for the same indications in every country: follow national marketing authorisations (EANM 2021)
Activity, dosing & administration
| Joint | Radiocolloid | Activity (MBq) | Triamcinolone acetonide (mg) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Knee | ⁹⁰Y citrate | 185–222 | 40 |
| Knee, repeat procedure | ⁹⁰Y citrate | 111–222 | 40 |
| Knee (Switzerland only: <20 years with slight synovial thickening) | ¹⁸⁶Re sulfide | 110–185 | 40 |
| Shoulder | ¹⁸⁶Re sulfide | 74–148 | 40 |
| Hip | ¹⁸⁶Re sulfide | 74–148 | 40 in table; avoid microcrystalline depot steroid with ¹⁸⁶Re in the hip |
| Elbow | ¹⁸⁶Re sulfide | 74–111 | 40 |
| Wrist | ¹⁸⁶Re sulfide | 37–74 | 20 |
| Ankle | ¹⁸⁶Re sulfide | 74 | 40 |
| Subtalar | ¹⁸⁶Re sulfide | 74 | 20 |
| Thumb base (CMC I) or sacroiliac | ¹⁶⁹Er citrate | 20–80 | 8 |
| Other MCP joints | ¹⁶⁹Er citrate | 20–40 | 8 |
| PIP or sternoclavicular | ¹⁶⁹Er citrate | 10–20 | 4 |
| DIP | ¹⁶⁹Er citrate | 10–15 | 4 |
| MTP | ¹⁶⁹Er citrate | 30–40 | 8 |
| Tarsometatarsal | ¹⁶⁹Er citrate | 20–40 | 8 |
| Acromioclavicular or temporomandibular | ¹⁶⁹Er citrate | 20–40 | 4 |
| Paediatric haemophilia: knee, pre-adolescent | ¹⁸⁶Re colloid | 50–100 | Not specified |
| Paediatric haemophilia: knee, adolescent | ⁹⁰Y colloid | 150–185 | Not specified |
| Paediatric haemophilia: ankle | ¹⁸⁶Re colloid | 40–75 | Not specified |
| Paediatric haemophilia: elbow | ¹⁸⁶Re colloid | 30–60 | Not specified |
- Physical data (EANM Table 1): ⁹⁰Y T½ 64.1 h, Emax 2.26 MeV, mean tissue range 3.6 mm, pure β. ¹⁸⁶Re T½ 89.25 h, 0.98 MeV, 1.2 mm, with 7.5% 137 keV γ. ¹⁶⁹Er T½ 225.4 h, 0.34 MeV, 0.3 mm.
- Activities are empiric and largely standardised. A physicist's calculation is not routinely needed unless standard activities are changed, but national rules on individual dose planning apply.
- Children: no general activity recommendation. Published series used half the adult activity for children or for body weight <20 kg. ¹⁶⁹Er is not approved for children in Germany.
- Minimum interval between treatments of the same joint is 6 months (EANM, WFH). Observe the licensed annual cumulative activity.
- WFH 2020 accepts ³²P, ⁹⁰Y, ¹⁸⁶Re or ¹⁸⁸Re for haemophilia. It advises one dose of clotting factor per isotope injection, steroid co-injection where possible and ≥24 h immobilisation. EANM advises intensified factor cover for ≥3 months.
- Approvals (EANM Table 2): all three agents in Germany, France, Switzerland, Spain, Turkey and the Czech Republic; ⁹⁰Y only in Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Portugal, Norway and Ireland.
- United States: Drugs@FDA lists no ⁹⁰Y, ¹⁸⁶Re or ¹⁶⁹Er radiocolloid, so there is no FDA-approved agent for this use. The one FDA-approved colloid, ³²P chromic phosphate (Phosphocol), is listed as discontinued. Its label covered malignant effusions, stated it was not indicated for intra-articular treatment of haemarthroses, and warned of leukaemia in two children after intra-articular use.
Key trials & evidence
| Trial / study | Population | Result | Reference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Meta-analysis | 2190 treated joints, mixed indications | Overall response 72.5 ± 17%; RA 66.7%; osteoarthritis 56%; Steinbrocker I 72.8%, II 64%, III–IV 52.4%; haemophilia/von Willebrand 91% fewer bleeds; PVNS 77.3% | Kresnik, Nucl Med Commun 2002 |
| Systematic review and meta-analysis | 21 ¹⁶⁹Er/¹⁸⁶Re studies (mainly small joints) and 49 ⁹⁰Y studies (mainly knee) | Success at 6 months: 69–100% for ¹⁶⁹Er/¹⁸⁶Re, 24–100% for ⁹⁰Y. ⁹⁰Y knee vs steroid or saline: OR 4 (1.2–14) at 6 months, 1.7 (0.69–4) at 12 months. Small joints: OR 2 (0.66–6) at 6 months, 2 (1.09–3.5) at 12 months | van der Zant, Clin Exp Rheumatol 2009 |
| Meta-analysis of controlled trials | 8 controlled ⁹⁰Y knee trials | ⁹⁰Y better than placebo (OR 2.42, 1.02–5.73); not better than triamcinolone (OR 1.89, 0.81–10.55) | Jones, Aust N Z J Med 1993 |
| RCT, double-blind, placebo-controlled | 68 upper-limb joints (44 patients) after ≥1 failed steroid injection; radionuclide + steroid vs placebo + steroid, 72 h splint | Response 69% vs 29% at 6 months (P = 0.001) and 69% vs 32% at 12 months (P = 0.004) | van der Zant, Eur J Nucl Med Mol Imaging 2007 |
| Multicentre comparative study | 99 RA knees (⁹⁰Y, ³²P or ¹⁸⁸Re) vs 46 triamcinolone injections | Pain relief 86% vs 67% at 3 months, 72% vs 46% at 6 months, 46% vs 21% at 12 months; radiocolloids equivalent | Liepe, Ann Nucl Med 2011 |
| Individual-patient meta-analysis, PVNS of the knee | 630 patients from 35 observational studies | Recurrence 21.8% after synovectomy; peri-operative radiotherapy lowered recurrence of diffuse PVNS (OR 0.31, 0.14–0.70; very low-quality evidence) | Mollon, Bone Joint J 2015 |
| Haemophilia evidence | Observational series, mostly ⁹⁰Y knee | 70–90% benefit in bleeding frequency, pain and function (EANM). A 2024 scoping review found only observational data | EANM 2021; Ray, Haemophilia 2024 |
| Cancer incidence cohort | 2412 adults treated with ³²P or ⁹⁰Y colloid, 1976–2001 | No increase in cancer (SIR 0.96, 0.82–1.12); no dose–response | Infante-Rivard, Haemophilia 2012 |
| Pharmacovigilance (manufacturer reports) | ~1.52 million joints in Europe, 1990–2019 | Serious adverse events 4.5 per 100 000 joints, mostly infection | EANM 2021 (Table 7) |
Toxicity & its management
- Radiation synovitis: more pain, swelling or effusion 6–48 h after injection, more common with ⁹⁰Y. It is self-limiting: cool the joint and add an NSAID if needed. Steroid co-injection lowers the risk.
- Joint infection is a procedural risk (about 1 in 3000 to 1 in 100 000 intra-articular injections), and was the commonest serious adverse event reported. Aspirate and culture at once; lavage or arthroscopy if antibiotics fail within 24–48 h.
- Skin and needle-track radiation injury from leakage on withdrawal: discoloration, blisters, ulcer or scar, appearing 3–4 weeks to 8 months later. Prevent it by flushing the needle and compressing the site.
- Para-articular injection or leakage can cause soft-tissue radionecrosis, the most severe local complication. ⁹⁰Y is the most potent (full-thickness necrosis possible); ¹⁸⁶Re burns usually heal in 3–4 weeks; ¹⁶⁹Er burns need only conservative care. There is no agreed management: decide with the surgeon, with radiation protection for the surgical team.
- Leakage with strict immobilisation: ⁹⁰Y knee about 1.8–1.9% (mean effective dose about 37 mSv for 200 MBq, mostly to lymph nodes); ¹⁸⁶Re 2.5–3.9%; ¹⁶⁹Er about 0.1%. Leakage ≥5% raises chromosomal aberrations; a semi-rigid splint doubled lymph-node uptake.
- Thromboembolism is linked to immobilisation, not the radiocolloid. Pulmonary embolism has been reported.
- Possible avascular necrosis of exposed subchondral bone in end-stage osteoarthritis, which may complicate later arthroplasty. Avoid treating joints with established bony damage.
- No proven increase in cancer after radiocolloids. Two leukaemias were reported in children after ³²P, but causation was not established.
- Haemophilia: bleeding from the puncture is low with adequate factor cover, but the bleeding tendency stays raised for up to 3 months.
Radiation protection & discharge
- Follow national legislation for handling authorisation, approved treatment rooms (including off-site rooms such as theatres), contamination monitoring, storage and waste (EANM 2021).
- Staff: β-emitters give a high skin dose, so monitor Hp(0.07) with ring dosimeters. Use acrylic syringe shields (about 1 cm for ⁹⁰Y), forceps or tweezers, a shielded box for prepared syringes, and standard fluoroscopy protection with hands out of the beam.
- Waste: separate by nuclide, because clearance times differ with half-life (64 h, 89 h, 225 h).
- Patients: excretion is mainly urinary in the first 2 days. Advise flushing twice, careful hand hygiene and separate washing of heavily soiled clothing. Catheterise incontinent patients for 3–4 days, and staff wear gloves when emptying bags.
- Pregnancy is an absolute contraindication and should be avoided for ≥4 months after treatment (SPC). Stop breastfeeding before RSO: ⁹⁰Y transfer into breast milk has been shown, and ¹⁸⁶Re and ¹⁶⁹Er are handled the same way.
- Written discharge information is mandatory (EANM 2021); any release or contact restrictions follow local rules.
References
- Kampen WU, Boddenberg-Pätzold B, Fischer M, Gabriel M, Klett R, Konijnenberg M, et al. The EANM guideline for radiosynoviorthesis. Eur J Nucl Med Mol Imaging. 2022;49(2):681-708. doi:10.1007/s00259-021-05541-7
- Srivastava A, Santagostino E, Dougall A, Kitchen S, Sutherland M, Pipe SW, et al. WFH guidelines for the management of hemophilia, 3rd edition. Haemophilia. 2020;26 Suppl 6:1-158. doi:10.1111/hae.14046
- Kresnik E, Mikosch P, Gallowitsch HJ, Jesenko R, Just H, Kogler D, et al. Clinical outcome of radiosynoviorthesis: a meta-analysis including 2190 treated joints. Nucl Med Commun. 2002;23(7):683-8. doi:10.1097/00006231-200207000-00013
- van der Zant FM, Boer RO, Moolenburgh JD, Jahangier ZN, Bijlsma JW, Jacobs JW. Radiation synovectomy with 90yttrium, 186rhenium and 169erbium: a systematic literature review with meta-analyses. Clin Exp Rheumatol. 2009;27(1):130-9.
- Jones G. Yttrium synovectomy: a meta-analysis of the literature. Aust N Z J Med. 1993;23(3):272-5. doi:10.1111/j.1445-5994.1993.tb01731.x
- van der Zant FM, Jahangier ZN, Moolenburgh JD, Swen WA, Boer RO, Jacobs JW. Clinical effect of radiation synovectomy of the upper extremity joints: a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled study. Eur J Nucl Med Mol Imaging. 2007;34(2):212-8. doi:10.1007/s00259-006-0195-2
- Liepe K, Zaknun JJ, Padhy A, Barrenechea E, Soroa V, Shrikant S, et al. Radiosynovectomy using yttrium-90, phosphorus-32 or rhenium-188 radiocolloids versus corticoid instillation for rheumatoid arthritis of the knee. Ann Nucl Med. 2011;25(5):317-23. doi:10.1007/s12149-011-0467-1
- Mollon B, Lee A, Busse JW, Griffin AM, Ferguson PC, Wunder JS, et al. The effect of surgical synovectomy and radiotherapy on the rate of recurrence of pigmented villonodular synovitis of the knee: an individual patient meta-analysis. Bone Joint J. 2015;97-B(4):550-7. doi:10.1302/0301-620X.97B4.34907
- Ray A, Rowbotham E. Radiosynovectomy in haemophilic synovitis and arthropathy of the knee: a scoping review. Haemophilia. 2024;30(3):617-27. doi:10.1111/hae.14966
- Infante-Rivard C, Rivard GE, Derome F, Cusson A, Winikoff R, Chartrand R, et al. A retrospective cohort study of cancer incidence among patients treated with radiosynoviorthesis. Haemophilia. 2012;18(5):805-9. doi:10.1111/j.1365-2516.2012.02802.x
- Mallinckrodt Inc. Phosphocol P 32 (chromic phosphate P 32 suspension) prescribing information, NDA 017084/S-016. Silver Spring (MD): US Food and Drug Administration; 2008 [cited 2026 Sep 29]. Available from: https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/drugsatfda_docs/label/2008/017084s016lbl.pdf
- US Food and Drug Administration. Drugs@FDA: NDA 017084, Phosphocol P32 (chromic phosphate P-32), marketing status discontinued [Internet]. Silver Spring (MD): FDA [cited 2026 Sep 29]. Available from: https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cder/daf/
Other therapies: